First Time Ducati Owner /Kara / Hello

Please say HELLO and tell us about yourself, your bike[s] and where you are located etc...
Tinkerbell
Mariana

First Time Ducati Owner /Kara / Hello

Post by Tinkerbell »

Hi Everybody,
Hello my name is Kara Elizabeth Chaffee. I live in Vancouver WA. (USA) just across the river from Portland , OR. I just bought my first time ever Ducati. 860GT , red, 1975, kick start only. Rode it home last weekend. The bike is in remarkable condition overall with 15000 miles. I am a semi retired electrical engineer and have tinkered with machinery my entire life. Had a Norton Commando thirty plus years ago and had not owned a bike since. Two years ago I bought a 1975 MKIII Commando. Spent two years getting it in good working order and even learned how to beat Amals into a relative state of submission.
The opportunity to get a very nice 860 came up and I could not say no. Back when I had more money, I had a history with Italian cars...I even manufactured cam follower rollers and pins for single cam V12 Ferraris, but that is another story...The bike seems very sound overall and needs some renewal here and there. I fell in love with the sound of the 750SS in 1982 , but those are not destined for mortals in any case. Also, I needed a left hand shift with the same pattern as my Norton. I don't ride enough to survive two opposite shift regimes in a pinch! So the only way to solve this Venn diagram was the 860.
The side covers are hideous. But I don't hate the tank. I have two-tons of Haas CNC vertical machining center in my garage. I do not see why some very nice side covers could not be fabricated for my 860 . I will get my people on this as soon as practicable.
So in any case , I spent today tearing down the PHF32s. Among other things , I needed to put the stock jets back in to match up with the original mufflers. The Conti knockoffs that were on the bike were taking my head off. So, the adventure begins!