Greetings From Cleaveland

Please say HELLO and tell us about yourself, your bike[s] and where you are located etc...
mike75
Cucciolo - the Lil Pup

Greetings From Cleaveland

Post by mike75 »

I have been kicking around on here for a few years now and haven't done the formal introduction so here goes,

Hello,

My name is Mike

I am a Ducatisti.

It all started for me somewhere around July 2 of 1975, or the day of my birth. 2 months prior to that my father had bought a 750gt new from Tartan Performance here in Cleveland Ohio, He had ventured into the dealer to buy a Norton Commando and was convinced by a test ride to buy the gt.

I remember being around that bike as a kid, how meticulously my Dad took care of it washing and polishing it almost every Saturday It was his daily commuter bike from mid April through October rain or shine I remember sitting on it as a kid in diapers and how big and loud it was. Mostly I remember the smell there is something about the way that bike smelled that is ingrained in my memory. As I grew up my dad would take my brother and I for rides, we would always pester him to start it up just for the noise it made then con him into taking us for rides, We had dirtbikes and enduros and other such things, but sometime around my 15th birthday my dad gave me the key and told me to go start up his bike. Once I got the thing kicked over and running he came out and told me to take it for a spin, I must have turned white as a ghost. I knew how much this bike meant to my dad and was scared to death of dropping it or causing any damage to it, and my feet barely reached the ground from the seat. I rode that thing up and down the street and through the yard never getting out of 2nd gear... It was awesome.