1979 900s Duke - fitting motor

Post your general FAQs, comments & questions regarding all Ducati engine & transmission restoration here. [Specific engine FAQs should go in the 'BevelHeaven Garage' section.]
ozzie_duke
Mariana

1979 900s Duke - fitting motor

Post by ozzie_duke »

Hi

I have been rebuilding my 1979 900ss Duke for the past 6 months and am ready to fit the motor back into the frame now but am having trouble getting it back in! It came out easy enough! So now Im feeling a bit dah! I have a chain block and a couple of slings and have tried several different ways - have had the bottom bolt at the rear in and tried to swing the front up - no way! various other methods but havent been able to fit it - it fouls on the protrusion at the rear of the crank case . Have plenty of time so no rush! Does anybody know the best method to be used? 8)

cheers

John
Darwin, Oz
ozzie_duke in Darwin Australia
Rebuilding my 1978 Duke 900SS - on the road now
Also 1976 T140E Triumph Bonnie
email:[email protected]
rwhc80
750 GT

Post by rwhc80 »

G'day again John, Glad you sorted the Dash. Bevel Rubber supplies most of the Aust Ducati parts places so I don't imagine you'd find one cheaper, and pretty rare on E-bay, but who knows !
Re the Engine, what protrusion are you speaking of ? is it the casting for the bottom engine bolt ? I have just put a Squarecase engine into my 860 frame and whilst not easy, i simply used a trolley jack to elevate the motor into place, I placed padding under the sump and a tie down strap as a sling under the front for protection. You may need to ease the down tubes out with a little pressure if the cases won,t fit up, but they should go as long as your frame is not bent ? Maybe a stupid question, but you have got both side covers off whilst trying to fit it in haven't you ??
Keep us informed of the resto ?

Cheers again,
Rick
I have desmo disease, I just hope they never find a cure !!!
ozzie_duke
Mariana

Post by ozzie_duke »

Hi Rick