851cc Pantah conversion

If you need technical information or help with your pantah based twin Ducati F1, F3, TT1, TT2, Santamontica, Montjuich, Laguna Seca, Al'azzurra, Pantah XL/TL etc engine - post your FAQs, comments & questions here.
sbelcher
Cucciolo - the Lil Pup

851cc Pantah conversion

Post by sbelcher »

I am building a TT1 motor and intend to copy the Marco Luccinelli TT1 motor of 1987 by using a modified 851 crank within late model 750SS crankcases combined with the 900SS bore of 92mm. Has anyone done this conversion? I know Ferracci did a 92mm conversion using steel sleeves, but I have heard bad reports and am not convinced about expansion rate issues between the aluminium barrel and the new (thin!) sleeve. I figure I will bore out the 750 cylinder and manufacture a thicker aluminium liner that can be shrink fitted and Nikisil plated... I figure that the 900SS barrels have a different stud pitch so they cant be bolted straight on.
I work as a Mechanical Engineer and am finding Pantah parts quite difficult to source (especially heads!). Is there any interest in me re-making some of the "performance parts" used on the TT series bikes? i.e. magnesium dry clutch casings, magnesium generator covers. Generally, machined and fabricated marts are available as they are easily made, but the cast parts are a problem in my experience.
Anyone got a pair of late model 750F1 <?> heads?
Interested in TT / pantah parts and information
Gomi

Re: 851cc Pantah conversion

Post by Gomi »

sbelcher wrote: Anyone got a pair of late model 750F1 <?> heads?
The pair I haveis on the bike so I need it, sorry :lol:
However, I know where I can get a pair, if price is not a problem. heads, particlarly vertical one, are probably the most difficult parts to find for F1. Some people use 600 Pantah ones that they machine to drop the F1's bigger pistons inside. Dunno if it's reliable...
sbelcher
Cucciolo - the Lil Pup

Post by sbelcher »