Early 60's 250 Frame Inquire

Post your 'Chassis & Suspension' FAQs, comments & questions regarding Ducati motorcycles here.
cmborn
Cucciolo - the Lil Pup

Early 60's 250 Frame Inquire

Post by cmborn »

I am in the process of restoring a 250 single. The forks indicate 1963. The question relates to the frame and previous owner modifications. Is the cross member correct or does it need to be removed? What's up with the welded bar across the joint?

Image[/img]
wdietz186
Cagiva Alazzura

Post by wdietz186 »

I'm no expert on singles but that looks to be a rear loop that has been welded onto a frame that was either modified or wrecked. It appears to have a crack forming in the lower right side of the joint too! The bars are a definite bodge. I would have the welding redone by a professional and clean up the bird poops holding the rear loop.It's kind of a shame you've painted it already but you don't want to have the seat break loose while you are riding Do you?
Macdesmo
750 GT

Post by Macdesmo »

Wdietz is right .The front seat mounts are wrong too. There should be a hole in the rear loop for the tailight wiring to pass through but not as many as in yours. I can't see in the photo whether you have toolbox mounts. Also, I can't see if the rear guard mounts are correct either. I can't remember what the mounts for the original regulator were like. Best advice is to find out what model it is and have a look at one if you can. I would be looking around for a original frame if you are going to restore to original. The parts book will give you an idea. All the best.
Eldert
Parallel Twin

Post by Eldert »

this frame had a crossbar welded over the shockmounts originally .
that makes this frame a scrambler frame

Eldert
cmborn
Cucciolo - the Lil Pup

Post by cmborn »