Stalling when hot

Post your 'Carburettor & Fuel System' FAQs, comments & questions regarding Ducati motorcycles here.
PJ3
Cucciolo - the Lil Pup

Stalling when hot

Post by PJ3 »

I recently purchased a 1973 750GT that had been totally restored a few years ago by a well know restorer and then parked. I am new to bevel heads so excuse me if I get some of the terminology wrong. The engine has 9.3 to 1 compression S style pistons and 32mm DelOrto carbs. When I first started it up, while it started first kick on the "choke circuit, the engine was surging suggesting a lean condition or wrong ignition timing. Also the pipes were very blue though I recognize that this could just be the ethanol in the fuel. First thing I did was check the static timing. It was 6 degrees BTDC so I set both cylinders to 10 degrees. It is running Dyna S ignition though it appears to have traditional coils. I also changed out the manifold gaskets with the aluminum ones with O-rings that Steve sells. I also replaced the O-rings on the idle mixture screws and the idle stop screws. I took the carbs apart and found them to be totally clean but I still sprayed carb cleaner throughout. I checked the float levels and was careful not to put any pressure on the needle valve when checking. They were set too low (suggesting inadequate fuel in the bowl for idle) so I adjusted them to 18mm. The idle jet is a "60" in both carbs. After making all these adjustments the bike will still start first kick on the choke circuit and then idle perfectly at just over 1,000 rpms within about 20 seconds and runs extremely good for about twenty minutes. At that point it simply will not idle. I have tried various approaches to setting the mixture screws (base setting of 1.5 turns out) with no success. The engine will either just stop immediately when you come to a stop or it will idle for about ten seconds, then begin to "hunt" and die. The engine will restart and then do the same thing over and over again, but if you rid