Coils for GT750 - new or old?

Post your 'Electrical & Gauges' FAQs, comments & questions regarding Ducati motorcycles here.
Post Reply
fritz_tc
Cucciolo - the Lil Pup
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 4:19 am
Location: Perth W.Australia

Coils for GT750 - new or old?

Post by fritz_tc »

I am restoring a GT 750 that has no ignition system. I have a chance to buy some (very expensive) NOS original coils. I am going to put on electronic ignition - but should I buy these old coils.

Pros and cons would be appreciated.

Geoff
User avatar
BevHevSteve
SITE OWNER
SITE OWNER
Posts: 2234
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 8:53 pm
Location: Lafayette, California
Contact:

Post by BevHevSteve »

I would only ask "why"

Personally, I would pick up a DYNA S electronic ignition system with 5 ohm coils and a dyna wire kit and be done with it. Easy to install and once set,.......... fagetaboudit

I have everything you need here

http://shop.bevelheaven.com/detail.aspx?ID=1157

Image
Image
Steve Allen (925)798-BEVL[2385] Ride'm, Don't Hide'm
Ducati/Euro Spares -> https://Store.BevelHeaven.com
Facebook > http://facebook.com/Bevel.Heaven
Twitter > http://www.Twitter.com/BevelHeaven
wdietz186
Cagiva Alazzura
Posts: 703
Joined: Sun Sep 10, 2006 5:40 pm

Post by wdietz186 »

Fritz, Do what the man says! The old coils were marginal at best.They made Lucas stuff look good.
User avatar
DesmoDog
750 GT
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Dexter, MI USA
Contact:

Post by DesmoDog »

I put the dyna system on my bike. With the coils mounted under the tank no one can see them anyway, and I'm convinced the Dyna ignition is one of the reasons my bike starts first kick virtually every time.

I wouldn't even consider using the old style coils...
machten
MHR / S2
Posts: 480
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Post by machten »

I've got a Dyna system on 74 Sport with the original coils. Starts first or second kick every time, but I might be lucky - and I would have no issue with running new coils, but I'm not going to change what works well. A fellow I know who rebuilds roundcase rectifiers for fun is of the opinion the old coils are unfairly maligned. He reckons they are very good coils, producing 22K volts using reasonable amps. Having said that, I'm sure things have come a long way with newer technology, and things do decay with time. But I still like seeing those old things when i have to lift the tank off! Why not try them first?

Kev
machten
MHR / S2
Posts: 480
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Post by machten »

re-reading, i see you don't have the original coils, in which case, I agree, just buy the the new ones.

Kev
Den
Mach 3
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 6:02 pm
Location: Florida, USA

Post by Den »

.....A fellow I know, who rebuilds roundcase rectifiers for fun, is of the opinion the old coils are unfairly maligned. He reckons they are very good coils, producing 22K volts using reasonable amps.....
The stock coils were measured to be much lower than that. And even twenty two thousand volts is not much. Make an informed decision:

http://www.ducatimeccanica.com/articles/coils.html
.
fritz_tc
Cucciolo - the Lil Pup
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2009 4:19 am
Location: Perth W.Australia

Post by fritz_tc »

Thanks for the advice guys...new coils it is.

Now all I have to do is find a place that sells coils while the Aussie dollar exchange rate is good. ;)

Geoff
Phactory
Cucciolo - the Lil Pup
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:18 am

Post by Phactory »

Has anyone used PVL coils from Germany? They are a direct replacement for the stock coils and are supposed to be 3 to 4 times hotter than the stock units. They come in the same 1.5 inch size and slip right into the stock brackets. They can be found around $50/each.

I guess this was an old racers trick setup from the 70's before Dyna's were available.

If Dyna's are fitted, how is the mounting setup?

Thanks, Phil
User avatar
DesmoDog
750 GT
Posts: 156
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Dexter, MI USA
Contact:

Post by DesmoDog »

Phactory wrote:
If Dyna's are fitted, how is the mounting setup?
I made a pretty simple "H" shaped bracket and put them under the tank. there is barely enough room for them so you have to make it as tidy as possible and maybe tweak the angle they're mounted at a little.

Image

Image

http://www.teamyikes.com/RC/roundcaseprojecf.html
Post Reply

Return to “Electrical & Gauges Shop”