1965 Ducati Monza - Fully Restored

Post your single cylinder Ducati FOR SALE and WANTED ads here.
ccambern
Cucciolo - the Lil Pup

1965 Ducati Monza - Fully Restored

Post by ccambern »

1965 Ducati Monza 250 – Fully Restored and Ready to Ride!

After careful consideration, I've decided to sell my Monza. I restored this bike in 2010 and rode it throughout the summer of 2011. This year, I've moved my business to a new space that is a twenty-minute highway ride away, so I've decided to sell the Monza for something that is a bit more highway friendly. The bike comes with a clean Michigan title (which is really tough to get on these old bikes), so it's ready to ride out the door.

I am a former professional auto racing mechanic with a number of modern and vintage restorations under my belt, so you can rest assured that the work was done right. I feel pretty confident that you would be hard-pressed to find a more mechanically sound vintage Ducati anywhere (and it looks pretty sharp, too!). Here's what has been done:

Engine... The engine came from a narrow-case scrambler. When I bought it, the engine still had oil in the case and it wasn't frozen, but it hadn't run since the early 70's, so I did a complete re-build. The head, bore, and crank were sent to Bore Tech in Batavia, OH, which is one of the few places in the country that builds Duc singles regularly. I did the rest in-house:

-Crank disassembled, freshened, and re-balanced by Bore Tech.
-Head exchanged for “big valve” head. Ported by Bore Tech and Green-White cam installed. Spark plug thread repaired with Timesert. “Hairspring” valve springs replaced with new coilovers and shims. New Mark 1 spec valves installed with new guides.
-Cylinder bored and high-compression forged racing piston installed.
-All bearings replaced.
-Clutch rebuilt with new internals.