Bruno Spaggiari's Imola Bike in Australia

General discussion and gossip about Ducati and other Moto related issues - post your non-technical FAQs, comments & questions here. Most Moto related chit chat that doesn't really fit into one of the specific catagories should go in this area.
aussieracer
Cucciolo - the Lil Pup

Bruno Spaggiari's Imola Bike in Australia

Post by aussieracer »

Hello,
Can anybody tell me who imported Bruno Spaggiari's Imola bike into Australia.
I remember it being imported but always thought Jack Walters bought it to Australia. He was a major sponsor of riders from at least 1949 through to at least the 1970/80's when he sponsored a number of riders on RG500s.
I read now that it was Ron Angel. I knew Ron Angel had it at one stage but thought Jak Walters was behind the importation. Anyone with knowledge on this??
I also recall Bruno's bike being advertised here in Australa for $4000, but I was a Uni student at the time and couldn't scrap up the funds. What would it be worth now!!!!
Peter
aussieracer
Cucciolo - the Lil Pup

Post by aussieracer »

Well after a bit more research I found a photo of Kenny Blake on Bruno's bike with Ron Angel Tuning written on the fairing.

But I also found a 1976 photo of Kenny Blake on a Suzuki RG500 with Ron Angel Tuned written on the fairing, but it also has "Jack Walters Suzuki" written on it.
Further in the caption it is called the Ron Angel RG500 Suzuki.

So is Jack Walters behind the importation of Bruno's bike or was it Ron Angel??
Peter
machten
MHR / S2

Post by machten »

As I understand it Ron got the bike almost immediately after Imola 1972, but I'll check with a mate of mine who is the rider in this pic. He bought it from Ron.

http://www.bevelheaven.com/~BB/phpBB2/v ... php?t=2924

Kev
Steve Foster
Parallel Twin

Post by Steve Foster »